My Holley Sniper EFI / Hyperspark Experience - Team Camaro Tech
EFI in your modern Classic EFI conversions in early Camaros

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old Jan 7th, 19, 12:11 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team
Chad

My Holley Sniper EFI / Hyperspark Experience

I recently finished the full install of the sniper EFI system, sniper fuel tank w/ internal fuel pump along with the hyperspark ignition and timing. Ultimately, I ordered everything from Holley and all in I'd say my total spend was around $2000. I also put in new plugs and wires. I choose the sniper set up because it seemed to get the best reviews and I also liked the simplicity of the plug and play system that comes with the hyperspark components. I am a novice and this was a big undertaking for me, but with all of the videos and support on the interwebs, it wasn't tough at all.

My camaro had a fairly stock 350 SBC that produces around 385 hp. The car has been sitting in a garage for about 15 years, but has been started and driven about twice a year. It was a daily driver for me when I was a teenager.

Based on the amount of time it had been sitting, I decided to put in the new fuel tank to simply eliminate the risk of having junk in the fuel tank ruin or clog the injectors and I was going to have to install a new fuel pump anyway...so why not just get the kit and have an internal fuel pump. As mentioned above, I really liked hyperspark's ability to control timing and ignition and I felt that overall it was a good upgrade for performance, reliability, and modernization. It has noticeably more power and from my standpoint, I expect it will enhance the driveability of the car as well. Over time I will probably work with the sniper software to "tune" the system specific to the car's performance.