Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey All! My first post here, but I am no stranger to Pontiacs. I have an 08 G8 GT that I love and Iam a moderator on G8Board.

My uncle recently purchased a 71 GTO as a project. I don't think it's a numbers matching car, but I'm no expert.
I'm also curious if anyone can tell me what motor is in here if it is not stock.

If anyone can help out it would be appreciated!

Attachments

·
Registered
3,770 Posts
I might recommend that you blank out the last 4/5 digits of your VIN - you never know who might try to use them to build "your car" or claim you stole theirs by using a forged title. Just sayin'.

·
Registered
602 Posts
Welcome. I also have a Holden built car that I really like. They made great cars down under....huge shame they closed up shop recently.

I am not too familiar with the 71 models but I will try and help anyway. :)
There were 3 engine choices for GTOs in that year. The base 400 cubic inch and two 455 mills, the top option being the LS5 455 HO. The PX trans is correct for base 400 automatic. Your VIN and cowl tag is Z which indicates the car was built in Fremont CA. The photo that looks like a partial VIN on the block appears to be from a different car so might not be the as born engine. Did your uncle acquire the PHS docs? Pontiacs of this vintage are well documented compared to some other makes so it pays to order the docs if the seller didn't offer them with the car.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
No on the documents. Where do I order these "PHS" papers and what are they?