Exhaust Cutout Review - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-11-2014, 08:03 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Exhaust Cutout Review

I'm thinking about installing a set of exhaust cutouts on my 67 GTO.
I have zero experience with cutouts and would like to get some opinions on the best type and manufacturer brand name to purchase. I think I would like to go with cable operated valves as opposed to electric because of cost plus I have heard about electric ones failing due to heat. One thing I do know is that I want some that do not leak when closed and they should be fairly easy to operate. Any and all opinions welcome.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-13-2014, 08:06 AM Thread Starter

Any opinions on QTP or Doug's electric cutouts?
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-15-2014, 05:20 PM Thread Starter

Anybody out there have any?

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-15-2014, 05:34 PM
Former Super Moderator

Quoted: 21 Post(s)
You could get some Humbler style mufflers.
Driver Controlled Exhaust - Waldron's Automotive Exhaust
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-13-2014, 01:08 AM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have an 04 gto and i just dont know what size to get for it or what will fit on there either the 2.5 or the 3.0 inch???? how do I know and which do i choose????
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-13-2014, 09:01 AM
Super Moderator

Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Garage
I've got a set of Pypes cutouts on my '69. With my experience, knowing what I've learned since, if I had it to do over again I'd go with either Doug's or QTP. Be wary of any design that employs an electric motor mounted on a more or less square gearbox mounted off to the side. Here's a link to a "typical" image of one of these:

12V 1rpm Low Speed DC Geared Motor - China Dc Geared Motor, Low Rpm Gear Motor