User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-16-2012, 12:59 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
If money is no issue

I'm new to performance upgrades so this may be a dumb question but, what do the $1000 Kooks headers do that the $300 pace setters dont? i get the difference between long and short tube. i want to know if im gonna get $700 more worth of performance from the Kooks. Im a big believer in you get what you pay for so i usually buy the best i can, if its truly worth it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-16-2012, 02:54 PM
Former Moderator

Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Garage
The Kooks have better collectors which are more efficient with scavenging. A couple of other brands share similar ones and are about the same price. The PaceSetters are also mild steel which rusts. Both IMHO should be ceramic coated which is extra. A lot of people get the PS coated because they think it's an appearance mod and will stop rusting. That will slow rusting but the slightest scratch will eventually let the rust in. The real purpose of coating is to keep the temperature of the gases in the tubes at a higher temperature. That accomplishes two things. One is it keeps the engine bay measurably cooler. The other is by keeping the temp in the tube up it keeps the gas velocity up helping scavenging and exhaust system efficiency.

FWIW I don't think most people really know the performance difference between LTs and STs.

2004 Blk/Rd M6
6.3 litre LS1

Built and tuned by svede
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-16-2012, 05:26 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Thanks I don't know what FWIW means but I read a couple threads here about lt vs st headers. I think I understand.
So my next question is; is the performance worth the price?

Sent from my EVO using AutoGuide.Com Free App

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-16-2012, 07:44 PM
Former Moderator

Garage