User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-13-2018, 04:14 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
2006 gto newbie with possible trans / clutch issue

Problem and info
I bought the car a few days ago. Im still getting to know the car and as i said im new to the scene. im still doing research on the car. I've always had sports cars and worked on them myself. This is my first american rwd v8. I have a good understanding of the car, i just dont know the nitty gritty and the particulars. All that being said, something doest seem right with how the shifter feels. All the gears feel healthy and strong but getting in and out of all the gears feels terrible. Reverse is the worst, 1dt is the second worst, all the other gear are minimally difficult to get in and out of. You can always get into the gears but its an uncomfortable and annoying process, it's easier the harder and faster you shift. Sometimes it feels better for no reason at all. The stick doesn't usually come back to center when in neutral (unless you were just driving it really hard. Then after you go home and park it for the night. The next time you drive it, it feels rough again).

Since i got the car, it was hard to get into reverse. Sometimes it's harder than other times. There is no grinding or issues once im in reverse. I have to forcefuly slam the stick to the right and up in one swift motion to get into reverse. Getting out of reverse is not hard.

Also know that in the trunk was what seemed to be a short throw shifter the was installed at one point and removed. Along with a bunch of other parts.

I have noticed a high pitched skweak as i drive. Ive only just noticed it and cant say where exactly it is coming from or if anything make it happen or stop.

Ideas