Major strut rub?? - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-10-2014, 05:21 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Major strut rub??

well today I mounted new tires nitto nt555 245/45/zr17 for my 05 gto 12k miles on her, the bfg kdw's worn out...new tire on drivers side fits fine about 1/4 space from strut.. passenger side rubs/squeeks against the front strut while spinning the wheel on jack stands.. WTF is causing this?? very minor rub if any with the old bfg's on that side .. I understand there are issues with these on the gtos , but now I cant even drive the car & all I did was put new tires on up front??? what should I check 1st I need to fix this b4 it comes out of storage for summer... could it just be a camber issue and need aligned or should I replace the strut bushing/bearings ?? please help im lost also Im a tech 20yrs so im not stupid I just never deal with this problem b4 & would app any help.. also what spec should the camber be ? ive hear -.2 to -.4 whats right?? gm sez to make it positive .2 but I know that would mess up handling.. didn't know just putting new tires on would cause me this much greif !!!!!! I was thinking of getting the whiteline plus strut mount bushing & bearing kit as its on sale for $158 from Maryland speed

Last edited by SIXO GTO; 03-10-2014 at 06:04 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-11-2014, 06:10 AM

even tires of the same stated size can have a different overall diameter...I'm wondering if this is your issue...tirerack.com will show overall diameter on many tires...good luck

Bill

**QSM/RH/A4/17**1 of 52**
Like what you've got?...Thank a Vet!
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-11-2014, 08:36 PM
Former Moderator

Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Garage