Am I crazy? - Impala Tech
Brakes & Suspension Conversion Questions & more

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-04-2014, 05:30 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Am I crazy?

I have a 1970 Kingswood wagon that had been sitting for a while when I bought it. I decided to go through the brake as the master cylinder seemed to be leaking onto the booster. Replace the booster (bench Bled) and master cylinder and things were not better as far as braking.

So I have now replaced the prop valve with a new style ('71 and up) from CPP, rebuilt the 2 front calipers and redone all of the hard lines and flex tubing in front.

I have not really seen a change in the braking in all of the updated at all!!!!!!!!!

When bleeding the last time I noticed a 2" spurt of brake fluid up from the front master into the reservoir and back into the reservoir.

Do I have a bad master, air in the system or what? Help!!!

By the way I have successfully installed several master cylinders in the past with no issues.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-04-2014, 07:25 PM

My guess is that it has air in the system.

Since I used to work mostly alone, with paid employees being more trouble than they were worth; I used a lot of tools that allowed me to do things like bleed the brakes by myself without any problems. I used a commercial version (about $350) of a plastic version sold to consumers for less than half that price. The basic difference is I have a stainless steel tank and I can charge it with compressed air, and the home shop version uses a plastic tank with a hand operated air pump.

http://www.motiveproducts.com/

You can buy them at most mail order speed shops as well as Amazon and other mail order outlets. The Service tool trucks sell the same thing rebranded as Matco or Snap On (where I got mine because I bought it before they invented the internet).

Big Dave
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-04-2014, 11:04 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Big Dave,