Name:	vvv 001.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	39.4 KB
ID:	13690

Click image for larger version

Name:	vvv 002.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	48.7 KB
ID:	13698[/ATTACH][/ATTACH]64 impala 327 ,car never had power brakes,,,,i have a duel master cylinder with disk on front....the booster needs to be small ,ive seen ones that stick out way to far in the engine bay,is that original for the 64 ,,,then there are duel boosters I think,,,and the vac to run it comes from ???? want to keep engine compartment as original as posible

Last edited by you loose; 01-16-2016 at 10:26 AM. Reason: add photos
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-16-2016, 10:59 AM

The factory used an eleven inch diameter single diaphragm brake booster that is going to push your master cylinder off the fire wall. It also requires a longer rod with a different end on the rod that may or may not be compatible with the master cylinder you have now. I would buy a proper matching master cylinder as the diameter of the cylinder inside changed going from manual to power assist as well.

You can buy all of the original parts as replacement service parts except the rod from Rock Auto dot com. Or you can look on line for a conversion kit that includes everything matched and placed in a box for you.

I have to ask why you are changing over to power assist? Power assist was offered as an option to little old ladies when they ordered an automatic transmission. It allows them to hold their varicose vein laden little legs on the brake pedal at a stop light so that the car didn't creep forward. Power Assist Brakes will not make the car stop in a shorter distance, or more frequently from a high speed. It just for holding a car still at a light or stop sign, or for disc brake applications where the line pressure is doubled compared to drum brakes.

Big Dave
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-16-2016, 11:15 AM Thread Starter

well everbody has power brakes,just thought I would power dem up