Swiss Impala to be lowered with brake drums - Impala Tech
Brakes & Suspension Conversion Questions & more

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-07-2018, 07:01 AM Thread Starter

Swiss Impala to be lowered with brake drums

First of all, apologize for my maybe « bad » english, I’m a Swiss engineer and my mother language is french ;-))

I wish to make my Chevrolet Impala from 1965 a cool low cruiser like a lowrider but I have not found a lot on B-Body on internet.

My goal is to have a low car with the 13x7 True Spoke Supreme wheels with following specs & condition :

- keeping the original drum brakes
- keeping a suspension system with springs, not coilover (it is not a race car)
- having a proper chassis and geometry adjustment with the correct angles
- airbags are not allowed in Switzerland !

For the height in the front, my idea was to find the correct drop spindles (-2 inches), adding shorter springs (-2 inches and not cutted ones) or finding lower shortened A-arms (-2 inches).

For the height in the back, my idea was finding shortened springs.

And to finalize, then adding a set of sway bars with the necessary arms and bars to adjust the geometry. Maybe you had similar requests in the past, else it would be a new challenge ? ;-))

Waiting your feedback and sharing your experience with me would be very kind.

All the Best to Impala Fanatic's !
Michel
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-07-2018, 09:29 AM

Welcome to the Team Michel!

Big Dave
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-07-2018, 01:56 PM

Welcome to the team!

Last time I drove through Switzerland and went into some of the villages I noted that those older cobble stone streets were not the smoothest around. Those might not like a car dropped down too low. If memory serves me right most drop spindles are designed for a disc brake conversion. If their a reason why disc brakes will not work?

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-08-2018, 03:37 AM Thread Starter

Hello,