67 SS Electrical issues Lights - Impala Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical problems

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-28-2015, 08:34 PM Thread Starter

67 SS Electrical issues Lights

Having issues with the lighting, changed signal switch in column. Put a test light in the U shaped connectors with flashers on, but I am thinking my problem is under the dash, using a test light almost every wire flashes and when I touch the black, the horn beeps. No brake lights, right signal on dash does not seem to blink. Bulbs are good, tested the dash and bulbs are all good. Now I am blowing fuse when the headlights are turned on. I have the column all apart. I am very tempted to order a new signal switch and do it again,new battery cables on the way, going to try to hit some grounds under the hood, it is turning out to be a nightmare. Started with putting new flashers, cleaned the fuse box. I am not very good at electrical schematics. I have a feeling this is going to cost me a bundle. Any help would be greatly appreciated.I can upload a picture of the wiring if it helps
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-29-2015, 09:24 AM

AAW (American Automotive Wire) sells your wiring harness for under $300. First thing I would do is to look under the hood to see if the motor is properly grounded. There are three flat braided copper cables that ground the motor to the frame and the body. The body is the return or ground path and if it is not connected to the battery nothing will work reliably.

Here is one of the three cables sold by a sponsor:

http://www.carid.com/acdelco/gm-orig...FUMTHwodgXcPXw

another found on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/ACDelco-12132154-Original-Equipment-Engine/dp/B00HRJPPGG .

The battery cables go to the motor but there has to be a ground path besides some part of the motor or exhaust or the drive train rubbing a body part.

Big Dave
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-29-2015, 11:45 AM Thread Starter