HEI Conversion - Impala Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical problems

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-14-2018, 05:14 PM Thread Starter

HEI Conversion

We are getting close to firing up our project and I’m trying to find a “key on/crank hot” terminal, there is one on the fuse panel marked “IGN” and I am getting 11.6 v key on and 10 v on crank. In pretty sure this terminal has the white cloth wire on it. Is this the wire that needs to be replaced to give me higher voltage on crank/start. If so how does one go about removing this wire out of the fuse panel as I have never done this before.

Or is there another/better place to pick up the voltages I need?

Dan

1968 4 dr Impala
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-14-2018, 11:57 PM

The factory runs points ignition at 8 volts for two reasons. First it makes the points last longer. Second reason is when the starter more is drawing the 230 Amps that it requires to turn over the car's engine the voltage drops down to about 8 volts from the battery's nominal 12 volts. This way there is still enough voltage to fire the plugs.

You can tap the voltage right at the starter relay by tapping into the "R" terminal as it is energized hot when cranking, but not when the ignition is placed in the run (on) position. The factory uses this terminal to jump full battery voltage to the points because as you have noted the voltage in the car when starting and running is lower than the battery due to resistance of the wires.

Big Dave
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-15-2018, 06:26 AM Thread Starter

I’m a little confused, if I tap into the “R” terminal wouldn’t the car fire when cranking then shut down when the key went to “On position.

Dan

1968 4 dr Impala

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-15-2018, 10:33 AM

The S terminal starts the motor (engages the solenoid) the R is activated when the starter motor is energized.