1966 Impala from 327 to 350 cu in. - value? - Impala Tech
Bench Racing Stories, cruising & general shop BS

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-17-2011, 01:49 PM Thread Starter

1966 Impala from 327 to 350 cu in. - value?

I'm new to classic cars and am considering purchasing a 1966 impala. It has a new engine, a 350. the car came with a 327 engine in it, but was switched during restoration. It works, runs well, all electrical works... my question is this: does not having a standard/stock engine like the 327 and the switch to the 350 increase or decrease its value?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-17-2011, 01:51 PM Thread Starter

1966 Impala from 327 to 350 cu in. - value?

I'm new to classic cars and am considering purchasing a 1966 impala. It has a new engine, a 350. the car came with a 327 engine in it, but was switched during restoration. It works, runs well, all electrical works... my question is this: does not having a standard/stock engine like the 327 and the switch to the 350 increase or decrease its value?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1966impala1.jpg
Views:	139
Size:	46.5 KB
ID:	1870  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-17-2011, 02:45 PM

Depends. If you are thinking of buying it for yourself, unless you care, it wouldn't matter. A 350 has a huge after-market following, and arguably has the most readily available parts of all the small blocks. If you are thinking of buying it to resell, someone interested in restoring it might keep looking, but someone wanting to drive and have fun with it might not care. The fact that is is a non-ss and is a 4 door is probably going to keep the die hard restorers at bay, so my thought would be to not pay attention to what engine is in it. If it runs good, and you just want to have fun with it, a small block is a small block.

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-17-2011, 04:34 PM