Synthetic vs conventional oil - Impala Tech
Welcome Forum New to the site? Introduce yourself.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-07-2015, 02:45 PM Thread Starter

Synthetic vs conventional oil

Hey everyone, this is my first post here, just picked up a SS427 custom coupe , 1968, and I am wondering if synthetic is alright for an older engine, let me rephrase that . older style engine but fresh.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-07-2015, 04:15 PM

Welcome to the Team John!

I really can not offer any advise as I have never felt compelled to pay more than necessary for my motor oil. I have been using petroleum based (refined crude) since 1963 without an issue. I have read that in an older style motor (two piece rear main seal with perimeter valve covers you are more prone to leaks with synthetic, and I have not read anything other than sales hype that would convince me to try it.

Of course I don't own a smart phone nor will you find me on Twitter or Face Book, and I haven't attempted to build a hot rod with EFI as of yet. So you can take my rousing lack of endorsement for what it is worth; free advise.

Big Dave
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-07-2015, 04:48 PM Thread Starter

synthetic

Hey Big Dave, I had bought a car that had synthetic in the trans , M20, and thought the syncros were shot , change the oil to regular oil and the shifting was fine and it quit leaking.

In the engine , I have heard that the oil pressure can suffer a bit , that is never a good thing !

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-07-2015, 05:58 PM