I'm new and don't know much - Impala Tech
Welcome Forum New to the site? Introduce yourself.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-06-2015, 03:24 PM Thread Starter

I'm new and don't know much

Hello everyone,my name is Danny and I'm from new jersey .Im 42 and have always dreamed of having an older impala.so after me and the wife saved some money over time we were able to pick up a 62 ,2 door coupe.283 power glide.its laurel green with green interior.it was resprayed over 7 years ago.The car is solid with just a little plastic in the usual spots.After having the car for a few days and doing some inspections and trying to get to know the car a little ,i am starting to feel overwhelmed because I'm no mechanic by any means and feel that i maybe got in over my head.i see lots of issues and now I'm not able to enjoy the car because i think of all the work it needs with not much experience.Its leaking tranny fluid and motor oil.elecrical wires under the dash are a mess.i believe i need an ignition switch because sometimes it fires and sometimes not.Not sure if its the starter.and it goes on and on.So my plan is to register it tomm morning and get it to a shop down the road and put it on a lift and have the mechanic give me some advice.(He's a family friend for a long time).So anyway thanks for listening and don't mind all the stupid questions coming from me DannyL
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3277.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	37.6 KB
ID:	13170   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3276.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	50.3 KB
ID:	13178  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-06-2015, 04:33 PM

Welcome, Danny.

First up, don't get overwhelmed. Don't think EVERYTHING has to be fixed immediately. This will lead to frustration. Getting it up in the air is a good start. Make a list with your buddy.
1. What does it need to run?
2. What does it need to be safe?
3. What does it need to stop leaking?