New to the Board looking to learn - Impala Tech
Welcome Forum New to the site? Introduce yourself.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-04-2016, 11:22 AM Thread Starter

New to the Board looking to learn

Gents,

New to the board and new to being a classic Impala owner. Just got a couple of months ago a 1964 Impala SS that my grandfather had for at least 1983 (as I remember). Car is running and is in great shape. However there are some things I need to do to it. Right now I am stuck on what engine is in the car. I know that the original engine is not there. I have tried my best to find the numbers on the block and no luck. I moved the alternator to see if I could find it and it was not there. I am a rookie when it come to this stuff. I willing to take all of the help I can get. Below I have posted a picture of the car and engine. I was told the engine was a small block 400 and then I was told it was a 350. Only thin I am pretty sure of is that it is not the original engine. Thanks for your help.

IP
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7109.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	35.5 KB
ID:	16537   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7221.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	48.6 KB
ID:	16545   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7224.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	57.5 KB
ID:	16553   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7233.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	21.4 KB
ID:	16561  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-04-2016, 02:23 PM

the engine id pad is on the passenger front part of the block right where the cylinder head and block are mated together. by
the pics provided,look behind the alternator,clean away any dirt and grime and youll see a series of numbers and letters.now
if its cleaned and just bare metal is visable,then quite possibly that engine block has been through the decking process
during a rebuild,and the sequence ground off. but we would need that info as it will tell what plant, what date, trans type
and c i displacement.