hello 62 impala bbc swap - Impala Tech
Welcome Forum New to the site? Introduce yourself.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-31-2018, 08:29 PM Thread Starter

hello 62 impala bbc swap

hello I am new to site,just wanna see what everyone's opinions are I swapped a 427bb today and am looking to use long tube headers like I had on my small block. what's everyone's take on this,what headers have you used. I do not want to spend 900$ on hooker ceramic headers and have to smash them to fit steering and suspension issues.thanks all
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-31-2018, 11:58 PM

Off the shelf headers are universal fit headers. That means they will universally fit nothing.

If you look up the part number for the header you are looking to buy you will discover that the manufacturer says that same header part number fits every SBC (for a SB header), or BBC in every car that Chevrolet made over the range of the series. In other words your BBC Impala header will also fit a Camaro, Nova, and Chevelle body equally well from 1968 through '90. They don't list them for light trucks as they will hit the firewall (car headers do not drop down low enough to fit a light truck), and they won't fit a Corvette as there is just no room under the hood of a Corvette for most off the shelf headers.

To get a guaranteed fit you have to make your own from a header assembly kit, or to buy custom made headers from an old school muffler and exhaust shop just like the Jerry Stahl, or Bob Headman, or Doug Thorely originally did in their muffler shops offered back in the early sixties.

Lemon's will custon make a standard shaped header for you as he claims to be a custom fabricator but he fits one car with a specific set of heads and makes all others of that body type to fit the pattern if they share the same head.