Noob from Toronto - Impala Tech
Welcome Forum New to the site? Introduce yourself.

1Likes
  • 1 Post By Darth

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-09-2018, 07:48 AM Thread Starter

Noob from Toronto

Hi Everyone,

I'm just getting started I guess you'd say, never really been a "car guy", but something about the late 60's Imapla styling just captured my imagination. I've been reading a lot and am an elevator mechanic by trade so not afraid to get my hands dirty or turn a wrench.

I'm looking at a 67 Impala convertible 283 w/t powerglide this weekend. The first one I'm looking at as there aren't a lot of these in the Canadian market that I've come across last couple of months anyway. I hope to be able to take it out on the road so excited at the prospect.

Any advice as what to lookout for when I check the car would be appreciated.

Anything that should be a deal breaker?

I'm just looking for something that I can get out on the road in and cruise, maybe the odd family road trip. Anyway I've rambled on enough...

Thanks for having me and I look forward to being a member of the community.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-09-2018, 08:14 AM

Welcome to the Team!

The word that makes me worry is RUST.

Rusted out frame. Rusted out body; or worse a shinny painted body that hides holes stuffed with plastic body filler.

Once rust starts it has to be cut out and replaced to repair it. This assumes you have new metal to weld back in place of what you removed and know how to work metal. There are far more people with mechanics tools in this world than those who own body files, hammers, and hand held anvils to work metal.

This makes the straight rust free body rare and expensive. Carry a refrigerator magnet with you when you go to look at a project car.

Big Dave
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-09-2018, 09:16 AM Thread Starter