new member..2nd question - Impala Tech
Welcome Forum New to the site? Introduce yourself.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-14-2011, 06:14 PM Thread Starter

new member..2nd question

so.. as stated in my first post.. i am a newb in the world of chevys ..as far as being an owner of one.. and total newb when it comes to impala's
anyhow.. just got a '66 impala ss with numbers matching 396.. was going thru the car decoding the tags..as stated in first post..
heres my question... while looking car over i notice a "strap" lets call it.. it is a heavy gauge cable that runs from a bracket on the drivers side exhaust manifold around the A-arm mount and back to the exhaust bracket...
i have never seen one of these on any car i have ever worked on and thats been a lot of them in my 40 years of being a car guy...
i am guessing it is a torque strap? ... it is fairly taut around the A-arm mount which puts it just above the motor mount..
does it help keep the motor from "twisting" when mashing the throttle?

if ya'll want i can try and get a pic of it and post it
and yea.. it looks like it has been there since the car was rolled off the line..or at least from the same Era
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-14-2011, 07:34 PM

That was installed as part of the GM motor mount safety recall of all cars made from 1958 to date in late 1968 and running through 1969 (they had to instal one of those five ton slings and bracket on every Chevy made in over 12 years). Today those parts are very rare (as few have survived). After the recall program was over in late 1969 the unclaimed parts where thrown in the trash and I wasn't at all bashfull about diving in and grabbing hands full of those cables as they made a great torque strap for race cars (the brackets only worked with cast iron manifolds).

Big Dave
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-14-2011, 07:47 PM

Wow, good info Big Dave!

' 61 Impala Sports Coupe
Visit my blog: