New to the site - Impala Tech
Welcome Forum New to the site? Introduce yourself.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-07-2011, 11:35 AM Thread Starter

New to the site

Hello everyone -

A little background. I've decided I want a '59 or '60 Impala to drive as my everyday car, however, I'm a total rookie so I've got a lot to learn. A buddy of mine owns a '67 GTO and recommended I join your forum. I'm looking forward to learning what I need to know as I go down this road!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-07-2011, 12:39 PM
Lifetime Premium Member

Welcome to the site Jeff.

Did you meant to be an Impala rookie or a rookie when it comes to mechanical/electrical/body aspects of the car? I have 1970 which is my daily driver so here are few pointers:

1. Pick a car that's already a decent daily driver. Do not go into project cars as you will not be driving it for next few years. It is always cheaper to buy restored car than restore it yourself.

2. Consider upgrading your car with three-point seat belts if you are going to turn it into a daily driver. It ain't going to be stock looking but safety first.

3. I would also upgrade to power disc brakes in the front. It was a big improvement over the manual drums I had previously.

4. Unless your car is frame-off restoration, be prepared to maintain it. Car will have no warranty and there is always something to do around it.

5. Have fun! You are going to love the attention your car will get.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-07-2011, 01:29 PM Thread Starter

Rookie Status

Hey, thanks for the info Alex.

I'm a rookie when it comes to a classic Impala, and only so so when it comes to mechanical. I have a guy around the corner that I trust completely with my cars, so it sounds like unless I'm going to buy frame-off, I'm going to get to know him even better.