New to Forums- '63 Impala - Impala Tech
Welcome Forum New to the site? Introduce yourself.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-08-2011, 02:55 PM Thread Starter

New to Forums- '63 Impala

I'm new to classic Impalas, as well as this site. (typically a Vintage Bronco guy)
I found this baby on CL- thought it was a scam because the lady spelled Chevy wrong (Cheve), was asking $700 for a complete car, and couldn't tell me much about it via email. But she had a local number, so we chatted, I went and looked at it. Apparently I was the first person to take the time to listen to her story and go look at the car. I guess she liked me, because she said "just give me two or three hundred for it- I want you to have it." I looked at her and said "I'm pretty sure you could get more for it- are you sure?" She was insistent, so we met at the DMV, did paperwork, and I went out and had it towed home last Friday.

It's a '63 4-Door Hardtop. 283, Powerglide. 79K original miles.
Engine and trans intact. It has been sitting for 5 years. I replaced the battery, and she started right up. There was zero trans fluid in it. Filled it and took it around the block. (She had taken it to Midas for "the works" to include a trans flush, and she said after that it never ran right after that. I'm wondering if they forgot to tighten or fill correctly?)

Anyway, just introducing myself- glad for all the resources and help I'm sure I'll be making use of in the coming months.

Thanks
Jon
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo(26).JPG
Views:	92
Size:	52.7 KB
ID:	2164  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-08-2011, 03:56 PM

Welcome to the Team Jon!

Sounds like you are a new Bow Tie man.

Big Dave
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-08-2011, 07:06 PM

You should be ashamed of yourself stealing a car from a 'little old lady'. Only kidding I'm assuming she was little and old. It wasn't a one owner was it?