Newbie looking at 65 SS 396 - Impala Tech
Welcome Forum New to the site? Introduce yourself.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-06-2011, 07:15 AM Thread Starter

Newbie looking at 65 SS 396

Hello everyone,

I'm am currently deployed to Iraq and have been trying to find a classic car to restore. I found a 65 impala SS 396 "numbers matching" for $8500 and just going off the pics it looks like a great project! I am very new to car restoration, and would like some helpful hints as what to look for and if the price is average or too high. I will try to pull pics from the sight to post. Of the pictures shown it looks to have a good body needing just minor work, has original # match engine and trans interior will need some work. Now upon inquiry the sales rep told me it has been stored for the past ten years. He stated everything is intact and should be ready to run, after the usual fuel sys flush fluids check etc. Now if the body and frame are low rust and the engine is original and appears to be runnable after inspection is 8500 a good price. Oh and it's been in central Texas it's whole life. Please give me any info or questions you can, thanx
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-06-2011, 07:16 AM Thread Starter

Question Ad listing and pic

Here is the info listing on site:

Original Numbers Matching 396-4V, Automatic, 12bolt rearend, Factory Air Conditioning, Power Steering, Factory Bucket Seats, Factory Console, Rally Wheels, Originally White Exterior w/ Black Interior, Overall Solid Car, Needs Restoration, In Storage for 10 years, Good Texas Title
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	65ImpSS396LF2.JPG
Views:	121
Size:	39.5 KB
ID:	2211  

Last edited by Srod79; 12-06-2011 at 07:27 AM. Reason: Added pic
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-06-2011, 07:39 AM

Sam

PM sent.

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-06-2011, 08:12 AM Thread Starter

Thanx Bruce, great info