Hello, a little clarification please - Impala Tech
Welcome Forum New to the site? Introduce yourself.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-21-2011, 09:10 PM Thread Starter

Hello, a little clarification please

Hello,
I am new to the Impala world as I am searching for a 65.

I'd like to understand the difference in the different models:
Bel Air
Impala
Biscayne
Caprice...

I know the Bel Airs go back to the 50's and a Deluxe is somehow tied in with it. I've done some extensive searching but still clueless. I am trying to understand if each of these are seperate models or is an Impala a top of the line Bel Air for example. How do all of these tie in with each other? TIA!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-21-2011, 09:32 PM

It was different levels of trim and standard equipment. Biscayne was bottom of the totem pole, with Bel Air above it... both were sedan (had window frames) models.

Impala was next up and available in more body styles. I addition to 4 door sedans were 4 door hardtops, 2 door hardtops, and also convertibles. Easy to identify with three tail lamps on each side, rather than two.

Then the Caprice came late in the model year, as a high option 4 door hardtop only. Starting for the '66 model year, a 2 door hardtop was also available (with it's own roof line).

'69 Impala 4-door hardtop
'70 Impala Custom coupe
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-21-2011, 09:56 PM

Welcome!
I'll try to explain.
All 4 are the same basic body with different appearance and price ranges.
Biscayne is the lowest priced.I think it started in 58
Then BelAir.Started in 1953?There were originally 3 BelAir models.the 1500,2100 and 2400(better known as the 150,210 and BelAir)
Then Impala.First year was 1958.
The Caprice was added to the line in 65 as a luxury option on the Impala.
In 1958,Biscayne and Belair became the economy models with Impala coming in as the "Sport" model and top of the line.