Hello My name is Chrissy - Impala Tech
Welcome Forum New to the site? Introduce yourself.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-22-2012, 04:17 PM Thread Starter

Red face Hello My name is Chrissy

Yep, you guessed it I'm a female and I know very little about cars, except that I love them. I'm a huge fan of the classics. The engines are what I have trouble with I'm not to bad at distinguishing a make and model just by looking her body. But I'm not a pro. I'm currently looking for a baby girl that I can fix up myself. It's always been a dream of mine to own a car that I rebuilt. It's never to late to learn and it's never to late to achieve a life long dream. I'm hoping that I can learn a thing or two from all of you that are here in this forum. Thank ya'll and Maybe you'll be seeing me around the posts
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-22-2012, 04:22 PM
BA.

Welcome Chrissy. I'm sure you'll find plenty of help here for you and your future car.

Do you have someone helping you find that special car, or do you know where you'll be looking for it? (and what you want to spend)

HOW A NOVICE REBUILDS A 66 IMPALA CONVERTIBLE:
http://www.impalas.net/forums/blog.php?u=1432
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-22-2012, 05:12 PM

Welcome to the Team Chrissy!

I am going to assume since you chose this board you are interested in GM's most popular full sized car (the Chevy). After you figure out what trim level you desire, Biscayne, Impala, or Caprice you the have to pick your series of car. Tri fives (1955-57) or before that era as they even made a car with a bustle; or the very popular X-frame cars (1958-'64). Then there are the full perimeter frame cars from 1965-'70; or the really big full sized cars made from 1971-'76. GM then shrank the bloated Caprice and Impala after 1977 and kept the same body style from 1977-'90, before they went to the inverted bath tubs of the 1991-'96 which was the last year for the B series.

Big Dave