New, Looking for advice on 63-64 prepurchase - Impala Tech
Welcome Forum New to the site? Introduce yourself.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-16-2012, 12:14 PM Thread Starter

New, Looking for advice on 63-64 prepurchase

Well, for as long as I can remember I have wanted a 64 impala. specifically a 409 but I am aware that wont be happening anytime soon. So, for not I have the oppurtunity to purchase a restoration project. I have found a 63 locally that would appear solid. I know it does not have the original motor but I am not terribly worried as I am a mechanic. However, I do want to make sure that I don't over look a fatal flaw in the frame or body.

Through some of my research I have found that body mounts seem to be a big issue along with the ridgidity of the frame. is there anything I need to take a serious look at and possibly avoid if the issue is present? And like most classic cars it seems that the floor and trunk pans also appear to be a major concern but I was told they had already been addressed and are completely new.

Thanks in advance any information will help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-16-2012, 05:56 PM

If the floor pans are completely new you need to have a good hard look and see if they're actually new or just patched, and if they were installed correctly. The body mounts and trunk (above the rear springs) were bad for rust, as well as the rear edge of the trunk.

If it's a 2-door HT the 63's and 64's typically crack in the quarters right below the windows. If it's cracked this is normal and not a major concern (it happens due to the location of the body mounts on such a long quarter), but if they don't appear cracked I would wonder how or if they were repaired, or if they're just covered with bondo. That could be a problem.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-16-2012, 06:21 PM Thread Starter

Are there ever issues with the frames cracking or rotting out?