Hello From a complete Newb :) - Impala Tech
Welcome Forum New to the site? Introduce yourself.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-01-2013, 06:03 PM Thread Starter

Hello From a complete Newb :)

Howdy All,

I have a 69 impala sport coup that my father in law left me recently. It belonged to his dad when it was new and after he passed sat in a barn for 5 years. It has set in my father in laws garage for several years as well since he couldn't work on it due to illness. I am a fan of the classics but my mechanical skills are very little I am afraid. I would love to bring the old thing back up to snuff. Needless to say it has a lot of sentimental value to us.

Its a 255 hp 350 with 365 foot pounds of torque. It has a 3.07 rear end and 3 on the tree. I would like to get it looking more like an SS though I know it'll never actually be one. It runs well with some shifting issues (shifter feels like its full of molasses) and a gas gauge that doesnt work. I think I have attached a picture here.. at least I hope I have. I am also thinking that the rear springs are shot on it since it sets low in the back. Let me know what you think and of course any advice is welcome!!!

Thanks
Chris
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	peepaws69imp.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	56.2 KB
ID:	2879  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-01-2013, 08:31 PM

Welcome to the Team Chris!

Looks to be in great shape for such an old car. Ask away on questions though I would prefer one question per post.

You can ask as many as you want, but some folks follow a thread in the archives, and it would be nice to talk only about what they are trying to read about.

Big Dave
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-01-2013, 08:54 PM

Welcome Chris. Nice Impala. Ditch the wheels, A nice set of Rally wheels would look nice. Install new rear springs. Gas guage is probably a ground at the tank.

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-01-2013, 09:14 PM Thread Starter