Newb needs clarification: 1966 Impala - Impala Tech
Welcome Forum New to the site? Introduce yourself.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-07-2013, 07:43 PM Thread Starter

Newb needs clarification: 1966 Impala

Hello...I am new to Chevy Full-size Automobile ownership, however, not new to GM auto collecting, having owned and still owning some '60s and '70s GM mid-sized muscle cars, i.e., Camaros, Firebirds, GTOs, 442s, Corvettes. I just recently traded for a beautiful 1966 Impala 2dr hdt with big block, 4 speed, a/c, buckets/console, power disc brakes, & powersteering. She drives like a DREAM!!

Going over the numbers, both VIN and cowl tag, I have discovered that the automobile,though outfitted as an SS, is not a true SS. No problem....I did not buy it as a true SS car to begin with. It is also a color change and ,I believe, an original small block car...Again, NO PROBLEM. My problem comes from the fact that the VIN # inside front driver door jamb does not correspond with the cowl tag under the hood on driver side firewall. I know that the numbers at the end of each tag should not match one another as one is Fisher Body code and the other is production line specific. In the vin# there is an 'S' indicating St. Louis, MO., however the cowl tag reads 'NOR'. I am familiar with this because early Camaros were built there. The rivets all look factory and not monkeyed with. MY question is: In 1966 is it possible that some Impalas were partially assembled, say, in St. Louis, then sent for final assembly in Norwood, OH or vice versa???? I have never seen this before in my many years of collecting and am wondering if this is peculiar to Chevrolet Full-size autos or if someone switched cowl tag or VIN. THANKS!!! David
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-07-2013, 09:03 PM

Welcome to the Team David!