House power from a 402 - Impala Tech
Performance Our High Performance Area

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-26-2014, 08:44 AM Thread Starter

House power from a 402

I'm a novice to mechanical Issues. I just purchased a 1971 Impala with a 402 big Block. I'm rebuild the engine and adding a few high performance parts like a bigger cam, roller rockers, bored over 40, original heads valve job shave down 20, high rise intake, 750 Harley carb, 3200 stall. Compression should be 9 To 1.my question is how mUch horsepower can I realistically expect
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-26-2014, 09:42 AM

With the stock heads you will be making about a bit more than stock power. It is the heads that makes the power. The cam tells you where you will make the power in the RPM band. With a bigger cam you can make more peak horsepower but it will be so high in the RPM range that you will not be able to use it on the street.

The only thing you have done to raise the horsepower over a stone stock motor is to make it marginally bigger. The greatest contribution to power was made by your raising the compression from the stock 7.8:1 compression ratio to 9.1:1. Bigger valves in your stock heads would also increase your power levels.

You have to keep in mind that it isn't horsepower that you want unless you are planning to take your car up on the high bank oval track. To accelerate your car you want to make gobs of torque. This is why the 406 SBC is so popular. It makes more horsepower than your BBC 410 (40 over 402), but the same torque because it has the better head found on the SBC, and does so for less money.

Torque is made by cubic inches. If you choose to make those cubes by relying upon a longer stroke you will make more torque than if you where to increase the bore spacing to maximize the bore to make the same cubes.