sb 400 - Impala Tech
Performance Our High Performance Area

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-08-2009, 09:20 PM Thread Starter

sb 400

hey guys i have a 65 impala with a sb 400 going in it but i want to add some additional hp to the engine. So far i bought some gm performance vortec heads for it. what would be a good intake,cam combo to go with this? i was thinking about the edelbrock performer rpm intake (#7116 vortec style) any advice would be great this is my first build so kinda new to it learning as i go along.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-08-2009, 09:27 PM

For a street engine? Are you looking for high rpm or low end torque? Either way, good choice on the intake. Cam selection is always hard because there are tons of cams out there and tons of opinions. I would try a Comp 268 or 270 or Lunati's Voodoo line in similar grinds get good reviews as well.
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-08-2009, 11:19 PM

I have a mid rise bowtie intake on mine with a 650 edelbrock carb and a 110gph edelbrock racing fuel pump go with HEI also. If your rebuilding the block I would not go but 20 over on the pistons.

Make: Chevrolet
Model: Impala
Year: 1971
Doors: 4
Motor: 400 V8
Tranny: TH350

post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-08-2009, 11:44 PM Thread Starter

well from what i heard the 400's have tons of torque so i guess higher rpm? not really sure what to go with but ive read that u have to match all this stuff up for it to run right i for got to mention i also have a holly 750 carb not sure if im going to stick with it. i was wondering if one of these cams would work

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/EDL-2103/

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/EDL-2201/

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/LU...1&autoview=sku

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/EDL-7102/
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-09-2009, 06:00 AM