283 suggestions - Impala Tech
Performance Our High Performance Area

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-26-2012, 05:30 AM Thread Starter

283 suggestions

i'll be quite honest i dont know much about engines. my 283 is going to need bored. my dad who is an old school self taught gearhead. he wants to put a high performance 350 cam in the bored 283. w/ 4bbl holley and reuse the heddman headers that it had. i trust pops just wanted some opinions from u guys. i'm not really too concerned with having the hottest engine around its more about the car to me. i would like a nice solid engine though. thanks for all your knowledge.
Justin.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-26-2012, 03:10 PM

There is not a lot of performance attention paid to the 283. Most folks who want a bit more power just go up the cubic inches ladder to a 327 or 350 or 383 or big blocks...

One of the problems with a 283 is that there is not as much room to grow the cubic inches as you can do with a 327 or 350 (both of which can be bored and stroked to 383).

If you are reasonably happy with the 283, the skip the big cam. If it is a mild cam for a 350, it will be a wild cam for a 283. Regular driving will probably suffer at the expense of top end power, and it sounds like you are not that interested in a big trade off there.

100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

1964 Impala 4 door sedan

My Bloggy Thing: http://www.impalas.net/forums/blog.php?u=2285
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-26-2012, 04:11 PM