Need Help! What options are these!!! - Impala Tech
Tag Team De-coding tags & numbers

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-22-2008, 07:01 PM Thread Starter

Need Help! What options are these!!!

Here is pictures of the hood and fender. I'm new to Impalas but have not seen this on the hood of another 63 impala. The chrome trim up top looks factory and it is from the front all the way back to rear. Thanks for any help.

Here is the trim tag information:

Style 63-1847
Body AT2091
Trim 874
Paint 936
Options E 2CKY
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-22-2008, 07:50 PM

It is a factory part just not for that model year. The jet plane was on the hood of 1955-57 Chevy's as I recall. Could be mistaken. Hot roders often removed them and most of the chrome when seting up their shoe box for competition.

Big Dave
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-22-2008, 09:04 PM

Yeah, definitely not original for a '63. I can't really identify the hood bird. It could be from a truck. The '55's and '56's did have hood birds, but they were somewhat different from that one.

By the way, if the body side moldings are original, the car in the picture is not an Impala, but a Biscayne.

Bill

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-22-2008, 09:33 PM Thread Starter

Bill, I don't have the vin numbers with me right now but the first three numbers are 318. Is 318 used for Biscayne. Correct me if I'm wrong, I thought you can tell a Biscayne from an Impala by the roof. It's a 2 door hard top. The engine code is DK, 283 195 hp. I was told it's the original engine with powerglide. I'll try to get a picture of the car tomorrow.

The previous owner said someone told him it could be a 63 and a half. Did chevy make a 63 and a half impala? Thanks
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-22-2008, 11:40 PM

King,

I don't know my VIN numbers good enough on a '63 without researching them. I was going by the side moldings.