Impala SS Help - Impala Tech
Tag Team De-coding tags & numbers

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-16-2016, 06:33 PM Thread Starter

Impala SS Help

Hi, I'm new to the blog, hoping to get some information. I'm looking at a 65 SS Impala to purchase and I have a few questions. This car is badged as a 427 turbojet, its a 4 speed with bucket seats. All the research that I have done say's Chevy only put a 396 in the 65 as a big block option besides the 409. Does anyone know if you could have ordered a 427 in this year. I know they made them, they were available in 63 as the Z11 option but not in 64 or 65 but then offered again in 66. Is it possible that this was a factory option? I would like to find the build sheet on the car, does anyone know where it might be located on the car? I have yet to run the numbers to find out if it's actually an SS, I will be looking at the VIN and the cowl tag this week and also looking to see if it has a 12 bolt rear end. I know it has a big block in it but until I run those numbers I wont know if it's a 396 or a 427. I very confused as to why someone would re-badge it as a 427 unless its a total clone, I will know more when I get some numbers, any help would be appreciated, thanks. Paul
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-16-2016, 06:50 PM

Right, the 427 wasn't available in the Impala till '66. With 427 Emblems on the side, it sounds like someone might have dropped one in it. Just get the Engine Suffix Code on the Front Pad on the Block and we will be able to tell you what you have.

Not all cars got Build Sheets, but the ones that did are usually under the Rear Seat.

Keep us posted on it.

Bill

-Parting Out over 75 '58 to '73 Full Size Chevy Cars-

Member:

-National Impala Association
-Vintage Chevrolet Club of America
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-16-2016, 09:09 PM

Welcome to the Team Paul!