Tag - Impala Tech
Tag Team De-coding tags & numbers

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-14-2010, 12:53 AM Thread Starter

Tag

I know what most of the tag means anybody figure the rest 10 D style 64-1447 body VN 3824. Trim 831 Paint 936 ACc E. 2KMPS 3C 26
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-16-2010, 12:36 AM

10 D style 64-1447 body VN 3824. Trim 831 Paint 936

10 D = 4th week of October (1963) build
VN 3824 = Los Angeles Assembly plant, sequence # 3824
64-1447 = 1964 Impala SS (hardtop)
Trim 831 = Blue interior
Paint 936 = White exterior

64 Impala SS 327/300 survivor
67 Impala SS 327 triple black hardtop
67 Impala Bench Seat 4 speed
http://craigaacars.shutterfly.com/pictures
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-16-2010, 01:45 AM Thread Starter

Thanks the car was made in 63 in october when did they full roll out the 64 style? The tag won't say what motor or trans huh I'm new to this hopefully in years to come I'm a great mechanic and restorer for now it learn and learn some more thanks

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-16-2010, 02:21 AM

The model years started in September similar to today so '64s were built from Sep '63 through about July 64 then retool in August and start again with the next model year. These are aproximate start/end times.

No the cowl tag does not tell you which engine it came with. Your vin will identify if it was a 6cylinder or a V8 but I'm guessing yours was a V8 since there were very few SS's with a 6 cyl.

Also yours looks like it came with push button radio with rear antenna,
Air conditioning and tinted windows
Padded dash
Powerglide automatic transmission

(These accessory codes are from the information on the 348-409 website and they are not 100% accurate)

Very close to my '64 car. I have all the same items