1967 Trim Tag - Impala Tech
Tag Team De-coding tags & numbers

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-29-2010, 10:14 PM Thread Starter

1967 Trim Tag

Hey guys I am one of the newest members of impalas.net. I am in need of some help with my impala that I just purchased. Now I am new to the Older cars mainly dealt with the newer stuff early to mid 2000's.

So on to the impala my has a 283 that has been rebuilt and the numbers on the block are gone. So my question is if this motor is not the numbers matching block how would I tell if the car came with a 283 or a 327?

Here is the trim tag info if that helps any:

st67-16487 Bod st 507743
TR 811 Paint YY

Are their any colors in 1967 that are more rare than others or did chevy not keep that detailed of info?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-30-2010, 03:04 AM

Kale,
1967 2 door fastback
If the ST is correct then it was assembled in St. Therese, Canada
Yellow car with Black Cloth interior

If it really is a ST canadian car not a STL (St. louis, MO) car you are in luck finding out the details on your car. Canada saved the records for their cars and you can request them from the canadian GM historical place for a modest fee. I think this is their contact info:

Be Prepared Before You Buy
If you are interested in purchasing a specific vintage GM vehicle that was originally produced or sold in Canada, you should be aware of the authenticity of the vehicle before you spend your hard-earned cash.
We can identify the low-production C.O.P.O., Z28, L78, M22, or other special interest optioned cars before you pay top dollar for a clone.
We also provide same-day call-back service for those who are contemplating making a purchase but want to make sure of what they are buying.
Call us with your Vehicle Identification (Serial) Number toll-free (in Canada) 1-888-467-6853, between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. EASTERN Time. (Outside Canada 1-905-440-7689).