increased caster and control arm options - Impala Tech

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-01-2015, 09:51 AM Thread Starter

increased caster and control arm options

I just completed swapping out the original power steering on my 63 Impala with a intergral Borgeson unit. I am about 90% happy with the outcome. The 10% remaining is a little 'wandering' and some slight highway speed vibration.

The instructions that came with the new unit recommended 3-4 degrees positive caster. With my stock control arms I could only get a little over 1 1/2 degrees. I think if I could achieve the recommended value, the remaining issues would be resolved.

To get to the minimum recommended caster, I believe I have to install different upper control arms. I've seen fancy tubular arms from Hotchkis and Global West that advertise upwards of 5-7 degrees but they are expensive.

Are there any 'stock' like control arms available that are less costly and would work?

Also, I am new to this front end 'science' and please set me straight if my analysis is off base. My car is stock hight and I am running p215x70r 15" tires/wheels.

Thanks in advance for any comments/replies.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-01-2015, 10:19 AM

There used to be a set of stamped arms sold by Speedway but that was about ten years or more when I last saw them. In this case Goggle or Bing or whomever is the way to go to find something that will work and be reasonably priced. Note the difference in price of the tubular arms sold to racers versus those sold for street driven cars. the difference in price is the insurance liability the manufactures have to carry.

Big Dave
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-01-2015, 01:19 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Dave View Post