rack and pinion for 70 caprice - Impala Tech

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-15-2012, 11:20 AM Thread Starter

rack and pinion for 70 caprice

I was wondering if a 90s b body or f body rack and pinion would fit a 70 caprice or does anyone have any low budget better steering ideas, I would like to install rack and pinion on my 70
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-15-2012, 12:34 PM

Why?

Big Dave
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-15-2012, 03:24 PM Thread Starter

To say the truth it was my bro's idea its my first build I've worked on other cars but not on classics, he says for better steering better handling I like driving fast and want some good steering that's why i asked for any ideas

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-15-2012, 03:37 PM

You can get better steering by going to a Jeep G C box. Do a search.

Donnie
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-15-2012, 03:54 PM Thread Starter

OK I'll check that out
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-27-2013, 09:59 AM

Send a message via MSN to dgrown
But the question still is. Is there a rack and pinion setup availible for these cars? cause I do need the room with my setup
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-27-2013, 10:41 AM

B Body NEVER got rack and pinion.

Two doors, four doors, wagons, and ragtops.
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-27-2013, 01:32 PM

To finish Jason's statement:

Since there is no stock replacement rack and pinion available as a bolt on you have fabricate a mounting system to make a rack off of another vehicle work in it's place.